Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:56 p.m. - 07.17.05
ALL ABOUT HARRY POTTER...DON'T READ IF YOU DON'T WANT TO KNOW
So I finished Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince. I'm without words really. I'm upset and I feel cheated and yes I will purchase the next one in 498 years when she finally deems it time for us to be even angrier with her. I can't believe it. I also received an e-mail from some group I'm a member of that said this:

"On 7/17/05, D LeBlanc wrote:

Greetings! Yes - I finished @ noon today! Wow! Feel free to email directly - I am dying to talk to someone about this! Any Snape fan will LOVE it! Its funny, alot of what my friends & I have specualted came true. Wow! just....wow! loved it - going back to read it again!

Deborah B.
can also be reached at [email protected]"

My response was this [I must say you might not want to read it if you don't want the book to be partly spoiled.]

"The hell is wrong with you? Love it? LOVE IT? It's horrible!!! No self respecting Snape fan would like this. While we enjoy Snapes distinctive snarky personality no one wants to see him actually be evil. Part of the joy is knowing that no matter how cruel he gets deep down he is on the side of good. This just forces him into a one dimensional character that is only evil and nothing more. This almost makes me want to abandon the Harry Potter franchise and stick with fan fiction. J.K. Rowling has gone too far this time. It is horrifying. This is not at all how my friends and I thought it would turn out. From Rowling's previous books you get a perfect view of who will be contributing to the final battle. It's an insult to Dumbledore's memory that his high valued trust was wrong all these years. It has diminished all credibility of Dumbledore's previous actions, who else has he put his faith in that will turn? What other decisions has he made that were hideously wrong? I'm so shocked and angry about this I may vomit.

Elizabeth-
http://geeked-out.diaryland.com"

Jenni said that she felt let down by J.K. and I have to totally agree. You invest 4 years of your life with these characters and put all your trust in the author to see them through safely and then suddenly she decides it's neccessary to stab you directly in the heart instead. I guess it's all haha for her because she knows she will still sell books after this, she has us all by her evil British hooks and I'll buy it just to see, because maybe...just maybe. But I'm afraid so fucking afraid I could cry. You may think thats stupid but I feel like I know these people, I realize it's just a book and maybe I feel a tad silly for being so attached but I don't care. Sure it's a sign of a good author but good does not mean she's not completly evil and a horrible horrible woman.

It really does feel like there has been a death in the family.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!